Community of Science & Practice (CoSP)

TwR-II Interview series "In discussion with the CoSP members“


For the second phase of the Transformations within Reach initiative (TwR-II) we started a series of short interviews with the members of our expert group, the Community of Science and Practice - CoSP. With this we want to present and highlight the different professional experiences and recommendations of the CoSP members (see below), on how decision-making systems and processes can be improved to catalyze transformations toward sustainability.


In discussion with Prof. Dr. Diana Ürge-Vorsatz

TwR-II interview series © IIASA

In discussion with Maurício Antônio Lopes

TwR-II interview series © IIASA


The TwR initiative brings together a relatively small and carefully selected group of experts from academia, public and private sectors, and civil society with vast and diverse backgrounds to form a Community of Science and Practice (CoSP). Co-production of recommendations by CoSP and the IIASA TwR-II coordination team working in tandem will ensure that they are feasible and informed by the best available science.

  • Leena Srivastava – Chair of the Community of Science and Practice (CoSP), India
  • Seyithan Ates – Associate Professor Social Sciences, University of Ankara, Turkey
  • Pedro Conceição – Director of the Human Development Report Office, UNDP
  • Felix Creutzig – Head of the working group Land Use, Infrastructure and Transport and Chair of Sustainability Economics at Technical University Berlin, Germany
  • Maja Groff – Convenor of the Climate Governance Commission and Visiting Professor at Leiden University, The Netherlands
  • Brian Fath - Professor in the Department of Biological Sciences at Towson University, Maryland, USA; Senior Research Scholar at IIASA, Austria
  • Johannes Friedrich – Director of Climate Data, World Resources Institute, USA  
  • Katrin Harvey – COO of the Ban Ki-moon Center, Austria
  • Asma Ismail – Ibn Sina Chair for Medicine at the International Islamic University Malaysia, Malaysia
  • Maria Ivanova – Director of School of Public Policy and Urban Affairs; Professor of Public Policy, Northeastern University, USA
  • David Kaplan - Senior Research Specialist, International Science Council; Professor Emeritus: Business-Government Relations, Department of Economics University of Cape Town, South Africa
  • Mauricio A. Lopes – Member of the Advisory Group to the Director General of the UN FAO, Senior Researcher of Embrapa Agroenergia, Brazil
  • Dirk Messner – President of German Environment Agency, Germany
  • Per Olsson - Associate Professor Stockholm Resilience Center, Stockholm University,  Sweden
  • Jiahua Pan – Director of the Institute for Urban and Environmental Studies, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, People's Republic of China  
  • Renata Rossi Ignacio – Lawyer specializing in Constitutional Law and Human Rights Law, Brazil
  • Joyashree Roy – Professor, Asian Institute of Technology, Thailand
  • Hooria Sardar – Public Voices Fellow of The OpEd Project and Equality Now & Vital Voices Fellow of The VVEngage, Women in Politics, USA
  • Youba Sokona – Vice Chair IPCC
  • Piret Tounarist – Lead on Anticipatory Innovation Governance and Missions Observatory of Public Sector Innovation, OECD, France
  • Kevin Urama – Acting Chief Economist and Vice President for the Economic Governance and Knowledge Management Complex, African Development Bank 
  • Diana Urge-Vorsatz – Director of Climate Change Center and professor, CEU and IPCC vice chair WGIII, Hungary
  • Sander van der Leeuw – Director, Center for Biosocial Complex Systems, Arizona State University-Sante Fe Institute, USA
  • David Victor – University of California, San Diego, USA





Our Partners